Bill Steele, Chair of the Niagara Police Services Board, welcomed back Vice-Chair Dave Eke to the Police Services Board.  Mr. Eke was re-appointed by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario for an additional one year term commencing November 3, 2022.  He was first appointed to the Board on June 20, 2019.

Mr. Eke is a life-long resident of the Niagara Region, having lived in St. Catharines, Niagara-on-the-Lake and Niagara Falls. He brings over 40 years of experience in both the public and private sector. Mr. Eke is an Industrial Engineer and was employed with General Motors in St. Catharines for 34 years with a background in Production Supervision. He was first elected Alderman for the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake in 1991 and was re-elected in 1994. Mr. Eke was elected as a Regional Councillor in 2000 and re-elected to serve a second term on Regional Council in 2003. He was elected as Lord Mayor for the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake in 2010 and in this capacity served as a member of Regional Council.

He has an extensive record of community service, including being past Member and President of the Niagara-on-the-Lake Lions Club, former Member of the Niagara-on-the-Lake Committee of Adjustment; past Board Member with Niagara Regional Housing and the Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority; former Board Commissioner of the Niagara Parks Commission and Niagara District Airport Authority; past Board Director of Niagara-on-the-Lake Hydro; former Governor for the Shaw Festival Theatre; and past Member and Chair of the Niagara District Health Council, Niagara Goodwill Industries, and the Niagara-on-the-Lake Library Board.

“I’m very pleased to have the opportunity to continue serving on the Police Services Board,” says Mr. Eke. “I look forward to the year ahead and our work on the Board and with the police service and offering my contribution in meeting our goals and objectives.”

Board Chair Bill Steele welcomed Mr. Eke’s re-appointment and said, “Mr. Eke’s experience will continue to serve this Board well as we move forward to address the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead in 2023.”

The Regional Municipality of Niagara Police Services Board is the civilian body governing the Niagara Regional Police Service and is comprised of seven members.  By statute, three are members of the Regional Council of Niagara, three are citizens of Niagara appointed by the provincial government, and one member is a citizen appointment made by the Regional Council of Niagara.  It is responsible for the provision of adequate and effective police services for 12 municipalities, totaling some 450,000 residents and an estimated 15,000,000 visitors annually. 

For further information, contact: 

Deb Reid, Executive Director

Niagara Police Services Board

[email protected]

(905) 688-4111 Extension 1025170