The Niagara Police Services Board is pleased to welcome Nyarayi Kapisavanhu to the Board as our newest Regional Council Citizen Appointee Board Member. Her appointment is effective immediately for the remainder of the term of Council (November 14, 2026).  Jen Lawson, Chair of the Board, will officially introduce Nyarayi Kapisavanhu at the next Police Services Board meeting on March 23, 2023.

Ms. Kapisavanhu said “It is my honour and privilege to serve on the Niagara Police Services Board where I will have the opportunity to use my skills and experience working with and in various sectors and communities, to meaningfully engage on Niagara’s growing and diverse community needs and best interests.  I look forward to working and collaborating with my colleagues on the Board, the Niagara Regional Police Service, community stakeholders and the residents of Niagara Region.” 

Chair Lawson applauded the citizen appointment made by Regional Council and commented “Police Boards provide a critical link between the community and the police.  It is imperative that Boards are representative and reflect the diversity of the communities they serve, which in turn improves the quality of policing service to the public, making it more accessible and responsive to different needs.  Nyarayi’s appointment will strengthen our Board, and we look forward to her input and new perspectives on matters before the Board.”

The Niagara Police Services Board would like to thank Henry D’Angela for his service to the Board over the past four years.   Mr. D’Angela has served a total of eight years on the Board, including three years as Board Chair.  His contribution and diligence have greatly benefited our Board and there is no doubt that his involvement will positively impact the Board’s work as we continue to move forward.

Other Members on the Board include Dave Eke, Provincial Appointee and Vice-Chair; Pat Chiocchio, Regional Councillor; Laura Ip, Regional Councillor; Tara McKendrick, Provincial Appointee; and Bill Steele, Regional Councillor.

The Regional Municipality of Niagara Police Services Board is the civilian body governing the Niagara Regional Police Service and is comprised of seven members.  By statute, three are members of the Regional Council of Niagara, three are citizens of Niagara appointed by the provincial government, and one member is a citizen appointment made by the Regional Council of Niagara.  It is responsible for the provision of adequate and effective police services for 12 municipalities, totaling some 450,000 residents and an estimated 15,000,000 visitors annually. 

For further information contact:             

Deb Reid, Executive Director                                                                                                                        

Niagara Police Services Board

(905) 688-4111 Extension 1025170